Lost in the Wilderness

Not until we are lost do we begin to understand ourselves.
Henry David Thoreau

Being lost is something we all despise and hate. Not knowing what is happening or where to go and you are just simply ridiculously LOST. Most of all its like you’re all alone with that. Where to go? WHERE TO GO? You keep asking yourself. You are panicking  that maybe this is the end of it, you being lost forever. Now let me break the ice to you. Let me ease the pain that you might be going through right now or you might be going through in the future. Lost is nothing but a blessing in disguise. Yup you heard me (or read me in this case) right! Let me repeat that to you it’s a BLESSING that’s B-L-E-S-S-I-N-G. No I’m not going crazy here believe me if I was I wouldn’t be putting up this article today. I always believe that if you want to prove something you better bring your bag of evidence with you, better yet bring your OWN bag of evidence with you. That’s way I always bring up a few stories of mines to prove whatever point I want to give so you or anybody else can feel its realness and its concrete value. If you haven’t guessed yet my precious readers then let me tell you: I have a story to be told right now right here. Not big but enough to support what I’m saying.

At the beginning of this college course I have registered a subject called “Research Writing in Literature” with one of the toughest doctors known in my faculty. I honestly don’t know what I was expecting from the course, probably pointers on how to do a research paper or something like that and I thought well okay I’ll know once the doctor begins explaining. Here is this thing: the doctor did not explain anything. Basically he just said to get our booklets from the printing room and to make a copy from the rules sheets that are provided and sign it to give it to him the next class. At first we started reading the novel but I didn’t know the purpose of the whole thing then we started watching movies, different editions of operas of the same novel a few home works here and there but the more we got into it the more I got lost: What was I supposed to do?! I started asking a friend and a student from the same major, yet older and experienced. She advised me to ask the doctor and gave me a few tips. I kept asking and asking the doctor abusing his office hours, and asked the girl again and she was like don’t worry just do your daily work, and be a hard worker and you’ll nail the A. She said to submit a draft every week or so and made it clear that I should start early on my 15- 20 pages research paper. And slowly the view became clearer and I started working, determined to get that A despite what people say how hard it is to get a good grade with this doctor. The truth is it all needed a dedicated person who have found his way after being severely lost. Yes, my dear readers I woke up on the 10th of January 2012 for a midterm and I passed by the grades and I found it. The A was written in big bold black color. I got an A I gasped while tears filling my eyes, overwhelmed with joy. I got what I was determined to get.

Just then I really knew that if I wasn’t lost I wouldn’t have gotten the A. If I wasn’t lost I wouldn’t have searched for the right answers. If I wasn’t lost I wouldn’t have bothered to find my track. I knew just then that being Lost is a blessing in disguise. So is being lost in life. Being lost and trying to search for the right path in your life means that you are in the right path on knowing who you are, and where do you belong to. You will become determined to be in the right path.

If you are lost it might seem a pain in the neck and disappointing now. And you might thing that “My soul’s in debt but my bills are paid”(1) but think of what you’ll find if you keep on searching for the path you want. You’ll find wonders. You will become a wonder to people. You will know yourself more by the end of the journey. Just keep believing.

Three elements you must keep in mind when you are lost:

  1. Keep searching.
  2. Be determined and never give hope.
  3. Believe in finding the answer.

Once you know that you’d actually wish you’ll be lost every now and then. ;p

I was determined to get six A’s this course but I ended up with four A’s and two B’s. The B’s were unjustly given by Dr. Who and another Dr. and I was feeling down because I worked so hard to get all A’s and I deserve them, but karma will get them back I know. So while I was feeling a little down Triple F dedicated me the following song and I can’t stop listening to it. Thank you!:

Lyrics: Feeling Good; Performer: Michael Buble
Birds flying high
You know how I feel
Sun in the sky
You know how I feel
Breeze driftin’ on by
You know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good
I’m feeling goodFish in the sea
You know how I feel
River running free
You know how I feel
Blossom on a tree
You know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling goodDragonfly out in the sun you know what I mean, don’t you know
Butterflies all havin’ fun you know what I mean
Sleep in peace when day is done
That’s what I mean
And this old world is a new world
And a bold world
For meFor me

Stars when you shine
You know how I feel
Scent of the pine
You know how I feel
Oh freedom is mine
And I know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life

It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life

It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
It’s a new life
For me

And I’m feeling good

I’m feeling good
I feel so good
I feel so good

(1) Knockin’ performed by Freddie Stroma, from “Once Upon a Song”.

-Esperanza Writes

Leave a Reply

