Life is Tough, Get Comfortable With it

Earlier today I spent a half hour or so soaked in tears but don’t worry it wasn’t that I was sad or anything I was just watching “Step Mom”, who does not know what this movie is? I call those tears Good Tears. Even though I was re-watching it for God knows how many times I did not expect to cry again on it, but I did and I learned a lesson which I have been trying to teach myself this whole past month because I met someone. Well to tell you the truth I was working on it my whole life and finally I think finally I can say I’m very proud of myself that I managed to master it thanks to Allah.

You see this someone is a girl with me in class and ever since I’ve met her this term she has done nothing but complain. She had had or still living a hard life true but who isn’t in this life. In general life is such a tough fella on all of us no exception in different degrees. You see we all have our lucky-unlucky days but she just made her life hell by complaining the whole time and to tell you the truth it has been bothering me, not only because her complaining is simply annoying in every aspect but because she wouldn’t quite it at all and she is partially transferring this negativity disease into my positive field, which to tell you that I’ve been working on it since I’ve been born “looking at the bright side” and such, but till no it has not transferred and I maintain my hopeful field and to tell you the truth I’m way cheerful this time of my life and I just kept pushing her negativity away. Until today she took it to the extremes because our Doctor today did not attend our 8 am class so she decided to make a huge deal out of it because she has two quizzes today and she won’t be done from college until 8 at night, then some other student decided to defend the Doctor by saying maybe she is sick and she had her reasons and that just made her blow up and scream at her like, well like a lunatic to be precise. There wasn’t a reason for her to act in such a way but then you can give her all the excuses because she has a hard life but no! I didn’t say anything until she came towards me, still complaining, and I thought to myself “You know enough is enough. She is getting in my nerves.”

So I told he directly and indirectly that she should stop complaining and that she had two choices: either to make life control her or she controls her life. That today is a long day for her but in the end of the day it will come to an end and a new day will come. Of course from my experiences with some pessimists I knew she wouldn’t stop the act but still I felt the need to say it.

She taught me a very valuable lesson. I would not let life control me the way she let life do so to her. I knew that even if life comes with very hard obstacles I had to see the view in general and a way out that it isn’t even worth it to end my life for such thing no matter how big or small they are. We all have the glass half full we can either complain that we are thirsty and we wouldn’t drink it until it is completely full or make the thirst go away my drinking what is in the glass and there is always a chance of refilling and that requires effort, no water will come to you begging to be taken.

Life is tough maybe tougher than we expect it but the choice is all up to us… to control us or we control it?

-Esperanza Writes

Leave a Reply

